shopping cart
News Shop Catalogue Artists About Blog
16 Feb
The Maps – I’m Talking To You

It’s nice when you can make new discoveries in your own record collection. This single by The Maps is exactly that. I purchased it about 5 years ago at a record swap meet based entirely on the artwork and hadn’t played it in years. So when I was looking through the collection for things to post about, I thought I’d give it a shot (yes, thanks to this blog I’m actually listening to my records). Wow, “I’m Talking to You” is surprisingly great! Not sure I even knew what I had when I bought it.

The Maps were a Boston post-punk band featuring Judy Grunwald (later in Salem 66) on vocals, Robert C. Valentine on guitar and backing vocals, Daniel Salzmann on bass guitar, and James Clements on drums. The “I’m Talking to You”/”My Eyes Are Burning” 7″ was self-released by the band in 1979 and remains their only single.

Listen to The Maps – I’m Talking To You

More written on the band can be found here:


  1. Another smasher, Ed! I am so jealous of your finds!

    Comment by brogues — 16 Feb @ 8:01 pm

  2. Thanks David, but don’t be too jealous. For every good single I have, there’s at least 3-4 “questionable” ones that I discover (why I’ve kept them all these years I have no idea). They’ll be finding a new home soon.

    Comment by ed — 17 Feb @ 11:02 am

  3. Any way you could post My Eyes Are Burning? Haven’t heard that in years!

    Comment by Richard Mirsky — 27 Dec @ 9:30 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

All mp3s posted on this site are for promotional-use only. If for some reason you disapprove of your music being posted, please e-mail us and we'll take it down. Thanks!
Blogs We Like