shopping cart
News Shop Catalogue Artists About Blog
17 Jan
Witch Hazel – Just Don’t Try

“Just Don’t Try” by Witch Hazel was released in 1993 on their own Bubblegum Smile Records. The band was led by multi-instrumentalist/songwriter Kevin Coral with singer/lyricist Mark F., and bassist/sax player Mike Split. Witch Hazel went on to release one of my all-time favorite albums “Landlocked” in 1995.

The band changed their name to The Witch Hazel Sound with the release of “It’s All True” (1998) followed by the final album “This World, Then the Fireworks” (2001). Kevin later worked on solo projects with an entire crew of guest stars (including Laura Watling), but mysteriously this project hasn’t been released yet.

Listen to Witch Hazel – Just Don’t Try


  1. One of my all-time fave bands! How about posting the b-side next? Pretty please?

    Comment by e6gMan — 17 Jan @ 9:49 pm

  2. thanks for the kind words. someday “landlocked” should get a re-issue.

    sorry you didn’t like “plain!” haha! i always had a soft spot for it but…

    music from me in ’09, for sure…

    Comment by kevin coral — 15 Feb @ 10:36 pm

  3. Hey Kevin, you know I’ve actually been warming up to “Plain” since I posted about it. It gets caught in my head randomly and I find myself wanting to listen to it more now.

    “Landlocked” should get a reissue. Laura and I just got a copy of it on vinyl and love it.

    What is your new project and when is it coming out?

    p.s. Laura says Hi!

    Comment by ed — 15 Feb @ 11:22 pm

  4. @ed

    ya know, i only have one copy of ‘landlocked’ on vinyl. i can’t even remember how many were pressed. not a whole lot. it’s hard for me to believe people like that record so much. i’m not being modest or coy. it’s just hard for me to get my head around sometimes. don’t know if that makes sense?

    i was thinking about even doing some kind of like a “best of” WH/WHS album sometime. i think people might actually like it, as a lot of our old stuff is hard to find these days…i dunno…hi, laura!

    Comment by kevin coral — 16 Feb @ 12:39 am

  5. I’d love to see a collection of pre-Landlocked Witch Hazel. I have the single above, what else is there? BTW, I named Landlocked the best album of the 90s!!

    Comment by Jerry — 6 Mar @ 1:22 am

  6. Hey Jerry, that would be sweet, but I don’t think there are a lot of songs pre-Landlocked… at least that were released.

    Let’s see…
    1. Just Don’t Try
    2. Plain
    3. Cough Syrup – The Mommyheads split 7″
    4. Farewell to Cheyenne – Ptolemaic Terrascope 7″
    5. There’s Always Vanilla (Requiem For Baby Blue) – Beeswax EP 7″
    6. Now (Fear Stalks the Cape) – Beeswax EP 7″

    Am I missing anything? Kevin?

    Comment by ed — 6 Mar @ 11:13 am

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

All mp3s posted on this site are for promotional-use only. If for some reason you disapprove of your music being posted, please e-mail us and we'll take it down. Thanks!
Blogs We Like